School of Rock – Day 7 – Planning and Pathways

SUMMARY

I learned more about how to play the bass and read music and enjoyed asking the guest speaker questions that I had been wondering about.

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Holistic Songwriting by Friedemann Findeisen

Something that caught my attention was how different artists have small details that set them apart from others.

Score: 4

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

-there is no wrong place to start writing a song between lyrics, chord progression, and melody but it is easier to start with a chord progression rather than a melody because the chords will serve as a guide for the notes that we choose for a melody.

– An average melody has about 4 to 5 syllables per measure

Score: 2

PRACTICE ROOM (GUITAR LESSONS

Powerful advice from 10 Professional Musicians you need to hear (14:15

117 Free Lessons YouTube Playlist

 justinguitar.com

Write a few key things you learned and which videos you learned from today.

I learned how to tune the bass, how to hold the guitar, pick, and how to strum a guitar, where to put my fingers, and how to read and play some chords.

Videos 1-10

Score: 2

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

The game that can give you 10 extra years of life.  (20 minutes)

I think it’s really cool that when we are playing games we are more likely to tackle obstacles with more creativity and that we are more likely to ask for help when we are playing a game.

Your score: 2

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

Do THIS with every song you write | Hit Song Architect S1E3

The most interesting thing I learned was that there is a structure for writing songs. (Intro, verse, pre-chorus, chorus, verse, pre-chorus, chorus, bridge, chorus)

Score: 4

CONTROL ROOM (RECORDING & MIXING)

Soundtrap tutorial 5 – Arranging the song

Like a story, rising action, climax, falling action, resolution.

Score: 3

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

TODAY’s ACTIVITY EVALUATION

Today I learned more about how to read music and I enjoyed asking questions to the guest speaker. The problem I solved today was being able to reach all f the strings on the fretboard.

Content (The WHAT)

Rating: 3

The part of the material that interested me the most was the documentary and the guest speaker.

Process (The HOW)

Rating: 4

The activities that engaged me the most were practicing and the guest speaker because practicing is something I enjoy, the guest speaker was engaging to me because he was answering questions about music that
I had wondered about.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *